Afrika Korps

Afrika Korps Email Tournament

Afrika Korps Email Tournament Rule Clarifications

Download Afrika Korps Email Tornament Rule Clarifications

Updated August 23, 2019

1.             PLAYABLE HEXES - Qattara Depression Partial Hexes
                The following are playable hexes: Q59-Q64; R58, R59, R65; S57, S58, S61-S65; T56, T57, T62; U55, U56, U62; V55, V61, V62; W54, W55, W61, W62; X54, X62, X63.

2.             HEXES NOT ADJACENT
The following pairs of hexes are examples of anomalous hexes pairs that are not adjacent. Movement directly between them is not possible and unaccompanied Supply units are not affected by enemy units  across the anomalous hex sides: E18-F19; R65-S65; W61-X62; W62-X62.

           Unplayable hexes: H63, I64, J64, K65, L65, M66, N66, O67, P67, Q68, R68, S69, T69, U70, V70, W70, X70.

                Units may not enter the southern-most row on the board, because there is no "Y" grid coordinate.

               Question - Rule 22.1 and the Rommel bonus on Turn 1: Rommel moves 2 hexes with units at El Aghelia from W6 to W8. Would they still have 10 more hexes along the road plus their regular movement?

                Answer - Yes.

               The Rommel Bonus could be taken while traveling with Rommel, or the bonus could be taken later, even as the last two hexes of movement and even if Rommel is not with the units at the instant that they take the bonus, as long as Rommel moved with them for two hexes at some point during the turn.

               Furthermore, the combat units could move first and fully expend their movement, then Rommel could join them while he still possesses movement and add the two hex Rommel Bonus as he travels with them.

                Per 22.1: The Rommel Unit provides any and all friendly units a two hex movement bonus provided it moves with that unit(s) for two hexes. If Rommel only moves with a unit for one hex, then the unit only receives a one hex bonus. Note that the rule does not state that the bonus must be taken while Rommel is traveling with the unit.


             Question: May a single Brit 1-1-6 combat unit move to Q13 to capture an unaccompanied Supply Unit?

Afrika Korps Supply Capture 3

              Answer: The movement in the diagram above is illegal. The British 1-1-6 cannot voluntarily place itself in an attack situation that is not allowed. As a result, the limitations of 7.4 supersede the automatic capture rules of 15.21 and 15.22. If two Brit 1-1-6 combat units move to Q13, then 15.21 would apply; or, a single Brit 1-1-6 combat unit may move to R13 and automatically capture the Supply Unit.


                Situation: a Brit 1-1-6 is stacked with a Supply Counter.

               Question: May two Axis 2-3-4 Combat Units without supply move adjacent, so that one steals the supply and the other attacks the unit Brit 1-1-6 using the captured Supply Unit?

               Answer: NO. See Rule 15.3 and subsections. The 1-1-6 must be attacked via a normal attack in order for the Brit Supply Unit to be captured. A normal attack would be a supplied attack at 1-2 odds or greater, or an unsupplied attack at odds of 1-3, 1-4, 1-5 or 1-6. Obviously, an attack at 1-3 or worse is impossible.


               Question: If the Rommel unit is in Tobruk without any other units can he be "attacked" for the purpose of putting him in a units zone of control and thus moving him to the nearest Axis unit? Example, Rommel is   alone in Tobruk and a 1-1-6 moves to G24. Can the 1-1-6 "attack" Rommel during the combat phase of the turn to place him in his zoc resulting in Rommel being placed with the nearest Axis unit. If the answer is yes, would rule 16.3 also apply, which would allow the 1-1-6 to advance after combat into the fortress?

                Answer: No and No. Per 22.4 - Rommel cannot be attacked, cap­tured or eliminated.


            Situation: a 4-4-7 is adjacent to Tobruch and Supply counter is in Tobruch.

               Question: May three Italian 2-3-4 Combat Units move adjacent to both and have two units attack Tobruch (defended only by the supply) while one soaks off against the 4-4-7, so that one unit advances into Tobruch capturing the supply, one stays outside and adjacent to the 4-4-7 and the third has combat vs the 4-4-7?

               Answer: No. Although the situation described is not exactly as described in 15.322, the following ruling is based upon 15.322: The supply unit is captured if one adjacent enemy combat unit “attacks” the supply, while other attacking units attack the … combat units at legal odds (1-6 or better).  The attacker may not use more than one attacking unit to capture the supply; all other units in the defender’s ZOC must attack the … combat units.


               Question: The Axis have several Brit units encircled & isolated.  Two British units attack Axis units at 1-3 resulting in AB2.  Two routes are available for retreat.  One route puts them back inside isolation.  There are plenty of hexes available without running into blocking terrain or Axis ZOC.  The second route is outside the encirclement, which would thus free them from isolation. Does rule 7.62, (i.e., you cannot force a unit into terrain which would result in its elimination), mandate that the units must be retreated outside of the                 encirclement.

               Answer: No. Rule 7.62 does not apply. Rule 7.62 covers situations whereby the retreat would cause immediate elimination, not eventual elimination due to lack of supply. Rule 24.2 is applicable to the situation and it allows the retreat of the units back into isolation.

               Essentially, the winner of the battle may not retreat units in a manner that causes the immediate elimination of any unit in that same battle, if there are other possibilities that permit all retreating units to live after the retreat is completed. The winner may retreat a losing unit into an isolated position that will cause its eventual elimination.


               Question: The Axis isolate the Allied home base with an Allied combat unit occupying the home base. The Allies land a supply at their home base on top of the allied combat unit, but then destroys the supply after movement to prevent it from being captured. Is the unit occupying the home base considered to have been supplied for that turn?

Answer: No. It is counted as a turn of isolation, because the unit was isolated at the beginning of the turn AND at the end of the turn. In order for it not to count as a turn of isolation, the unit must be in supply at the beginning of a turn OR at the end of a turn.


               Question: An allied unit in Tobruk attacks an Italian unit on H26 and rolls an AB2. May the winner of the battle retreat the attacker to G24 then back into Tobruk?

               Considerations: This situation is not specifically listed in the rules, but Rule 7.6 states that Retreats can be handled in a zigzag fashion so as to end the retreat only one hex away from the original hex occupied during the battle. However, the common ruling for AH games is that a retreating unit cannot end up in the same hex from which it started, nor can it retreat into the same hex twice.

               Answer: An attacking unit cannot retreat back into the hex from which it attacked. A defending unit cannot retreat back into the hex in which it was attacked. Rule 7.6 specifies that retreats can be handled in a zag-zag fashion so as to end the retreat only one hex away from the original hex, but it does not specify “so as to end the retreat in the original hex.”


               9.7 The supply used to sustain an AV attack could conceivably move over the AVed unit and continue on to supply other attacks on the same turn but it must maintain its five hex supply line to the units which made the AV attack as well as any units in­volved in other attacks which it is supplying (Excep­tion: See 14.5).

EXAMPLE: 21/5 has established an AV (7-1) vs 7A/2.  The German unit is within five hexes of supply #1.  The 21/5 must remain in posi­tion for the rest of the turn, although the supply can move as shown to hex “A”, ignoring 7A/2’s ZOC and ending its movement still within five squares of21/5.  Note the reverse is not true: if supply #1 had started the turn at “A” it could not supply the AV from that hex, since the 7A/2’s ZOC is not ignored until after the supplied AV has taken place.

            14.5 Supply units are required to sustain AV at­tacks both at the instant the AV is attained and at the end of the movement portion of the attacking player’s turn. Note that it is             possible that the supply unit sustaining an AV attack may move out of the five hex supply radius of that attack, providing another supply unit takes its place within the five hex supply radius at the end of the movement por­tion of the turn. However, in this case both supplies would have to be used to sustain the AV attack.

               14.6 The attacking player must state before re­solving each combat (including AV attacks) which supply is sustaining the attack

               So, the attackers move adjacent to the first defender. Combat does not occur until the end of movement, at which time a supply unit must be within 5 hexes of the attackers.

               However, AV’s are not normal combat. At the instant a supply unit arrives, an attack may qualify as an AV (flip the Av’ed units) - then the supply unit may continue right on through the AV. Once that supply unit stops moving, other units may also pass through the AV. The moving supply unit could even move on to supply other AV’s or normal attacks.

               The AV becomes viable at the instant the Supply unit moves within five hexes of all the attackers – note that the original defenders ZOC will block the supply route, so you cannot trace the initial 5 hex path through the original defenders ZOC. But as soon as the AV becomes viable, the original defenders ZOC ceases to exist. See 9.6 - The original path cannot be through the defenders ZOC, but the final path at the end of the movement phase may be through the defenders ZOC.

               The moving supply unit that makes the AV viable may continue past the AV hex to supply another different AV or future normal combat. This is Okay as long as the supply units keeps on moving – the supply unit cannot be moved twice – no other unit may move while the supply unit is moving unless they have been traveling together the whole time. But, for the sake of clarity, it is necessary for the attacker to halt the supply unit momentarily so that he can show the defender the legal 5 hex supply path that makes the AV viable – then the supply unit resumes movement.

               At the end of all movement ANY supply unit must be within five hexes of the original overrunning units  (ignoring the original defenders ZOC at this point). If the unit providing supply at the end of the move is different than the one that provided supply for the initial overrun, then both supply units are expended. So, if a moving supply unit, which makes an AV viable, moves beyond the five hex supply path of any of the original attackers in the AV – the attacker must halt momentarily and stipulate a supply unit that will move legally to supply the original AV at the end of the move.


There are frequent questions that arise regarding movement onto and/or off escarpment from the coast road. Rule 18.42 and 18.5 apply.

But in summary they allow a unit(s) to move onto a road escarpment hex from a non-road escarpment hex via a hexside not bisected by the road and continue along the road


move along the road and then off a road escarpment hex into a non-road escarpment hex via a hexside not bisected by the road and stop

However, rules 18.42 and 18.5 do not allow both of the above to be done on the same turn. This restriction applies even if there are intervening road and/or clear hexes anywhere along the movement path between the move onto the road escarpment hex not bisected by the road and a subsequent escarpment hex.

15.           May units land at a Port and immediately move out to sea. No.

           Rule 23.42 “A unit which lands at a port may not move out to sea again in the same turn.” This rule governs for all units – supplies, reinforcements and replacements.

It is recognized that several other rules are open to a contrary interpretation.
              Rules 3.1 and 3.3 note that the players place newly arriving supplies and units at a controlled port and then move normally which, presumably, could be out to sea. This is more of an overview of the sequence of play and not intended to override 23.4
              Rule 19.3 says that reinforcements “… are not subject to the restrictions of units using normal sea movement.” This is intended to allow for reinforcements (and replacements) to be delayed entering the game at the owning player’s option. If under normal sea movement rules, they would be required to land and could not be delayed.

Since reinforcements and replacements can be delayed, the restriction of not being able to land and immediately go to sea does not affect the players options. However, with this Clarification a supply may NOT land at the Axis Home Base and immediately put to sea and land at Tobruch the next turn when the Axis may have captured Tobruch.